Sunday, January 29, 2023
HomeSports2023 Baseball Corridor of Fame voting outcomes: Scott Rolen will get in,...

2023 Baseball Corridor of Fame voting outcomes: Scott Rolen will get in, joins Fred McGriff; Todd Helton simply quick

There’s a new member of the Nationwide Corridor of Fame. The Baseball Writers Affiliation of America has voted Scott Rolen into Cooperstown, it was introduced Tuesday. Fred McGriff, who was voted into Cooperstown unanimously by the 16-person Modern Period Committee in December, is the opposite member of this yr’s two-person 2023 Corridor of Fame class.

Rolen was one among 28 gamers on the BBWAA’s Corridor of Fame poll this yr. He appeared on 76.3 % of submitted ballots and completed solely 5 votes above the 75 % threshold wanted for induction. Listed here are Rolen’s voting percentages in his six years on the BBWAA’s poll:

  • 2018: 10.2 % (lowest first yr share for any participant ever voted in)
  • 2019: 17.2 %
  • 2020: 35.3 %
  • 2021: 52.9 %
  • 2022: 63.2 % (highest amongst gamers not voted in)
  • 2023: 76.3 %

Rolen is the 18th third baseman within the Corridor of Fame. To date, he and Chipper Jones are the one full-time third basemen to start their careers after 1982 to be voted into Cooperstown.

In components of 17 MLB seasons from 1996-2012, Rolen authored a .281/.364/.490 batting line with 2,077 hits and 316 residence runs. That features a .298/.380/.532 batting line throughout his seven-year peak from 1998-2004. Rolen was additionally a superb defender who gained eight Gold Gloves. He retired with 70.1 WAR, tenth all-time amongst third basemen, and went to seven All-Star Video whereas receiving MVP votes in 4 seasons. Rolen was additionally the 1997 NL Rookie of the Yr.

“On behalf of the Phillies, I need to congratulate Scott Rolen on his election to the Nationwide Baseball Corridor of Fame, the best honor that may be bestowed on a participant. He richly deserves this award,” Phillies proprietor John Middleton mentioned in a press release. “Philadelphia was privileged to have witnessed the start of his extraordinary baseball profession. Along with being some of the impactful offensive and defensive gamers of his period, Scott performed the the fitting manner. Whether or not taking an additional base with a headfirst slide or diving for a ball within the gap, his hard-nosed effort and selfless angle resonated with our followers. Alongside together with his on-field contributions, Scott was a terrific teammate and an consultant of the Phillies off the sphere.

See also  NBA commerce rumors: Luka Doncic desires assist in Dallas; Wizards exploring choices for Rui Hachimura

We’ll quickly discover out whether or not Rolen will put on a Philadelphia Phillies or St. Louis Cardinals cap on his Corridor of Fame plaque, although he did not have a selection in thoughts Tuesday evening. A clean cap can also be potential. Rolen performed extra video games with the Phillies than he did the Cardinals (844 vs. 661), although he had extra All-Star Recreation alternatives with the Cardinals (4 vs. one), and in addition completed fourth within the NL MVP voting with St. Louis in 2004. Rolen additionally performed for the Toronto Blue Jays and Cincinnati Reds late in his profession.

“On behalf of all the St. Louis Cardinals group, I want to congratulate Scott Rolen on the well-deserved honor of being chosen to the Nationwide Baseball Corridor of Fame,” Cardinals chairman Invoice DeWitt Jr. mentioned in a press release. “Scott was a cornerstone of our infield and lineup throughout his six seasons in St. Louis, and helped create many fond recollections as a part of the nice Cardinals groups of the mid-2000s.”  

Practically 400 votes have been forged this yr and the full voting outcomes can be found on the BBWAA’s website. Listed here are the highest 5 vote-getters:

  1. Scott Rolen: 76.3 %
  2. Todd Helton: 72.2 % (11 votes wanting induction)
  3. Billy Wagner: 68.1 %
  4. Andruw Jones: 58.1 %
  5. Gary Sheffield: 55.0 %

Helton (5 extra years), Jones (4 extra years), and Wagner (two years) have all made regular good points the previous couple of years and are trending towards induction earlier than their 10 years on the BBWAA’s poll are up.    

See also  Jeff Kent calls Baseball Corridor of Fame voting an 'embarrassment' after falling off the poll

This was the tenth and remaining yr on the BBWAA’s poll for Jeff Kent, who acquired 46.5 % of the vote. Traditionally, gamers of their remaining yr on the poll get a lift in , although the ultimate yr leap wasn’t sufficient to get Kent in. He might be thought-about for the Corridor of Fame once more when the Modern Period Committee holds their subsequent participant vote in December 2025. 

Sheffield will the be lone participant on the BBWAA’s poll for the ultimate time subsequent yr. Manny Ramírez and Álex Rodríguez, two gamers with Corridor of Fame credentials who’re unlikely to get into Cooperstown given their performance-enhancing drug suspensions, will likely be on the poll for the eighth time and third time subsequent yr, respectively. A-Rod acquired 35.7 % of the vote this yr. Ramírez was at 33.2 %.

Carlos Beltrán was the one first-timer on the poll to obtain even 15 % of the vote. He completed at 46.5 %, which bodes nicely for the longer term since he can stay on the poll for one more 9 years. That mentioned, Beltrán was recognized as a ringleader within the Houston Astros‘ sign-stealing scandal. That will harm his Corridor of Fame candidacy and finally preserve him out of Cooperstown.

Gamers should obtain not less than 5 % of the vote to stay on the poll one other yr. John Lackey, Huston Road, and former Cy Younger winner R.A. Dickey are among the many notables to fall wanting the 5 % threshold this yr.

- Advertisment -

Most Popular